Posted by: cindybiz | January 4, 2010

Biographies

Do you read biographies?? I love to learn about other people. I wonder sometimes if it is because I am nosey…but I will say that I do learn a lot of lessons through other’s lives that I know I don’t want to learn myself!

Eric Liddell

One biography that really struck me was reading about the life of Eric Liddell. Sometimes there are things that just resonate with your own life and this certainly happened in Eric’s life. I really knew nothing about him other than he was a runner…and that is not something we had in common, for sure. But the more I read about this man, the more I liked him! He grew up as a missionary kid and I wept (along with his parents) as he was left behind to attend school in Britain as his parents went to China. I cheered (along with his parents) as he ran his races and won. I was intrigued by the fact that he was Scottish and went on a speaking tour along the coast about the time my Grandfather would have lived in Aberdeen (had he heard him speak??). And I will readily admit weeping as I read of his death in China (although I should have seen that coming since most biographies end that way). I quite enjoyed learning about Eric, a man who never wavered from what he believed, and I enjoyed sharing his legacy with my children as we read the book together. (More info on Eric here.)

Other biographies? I have enjoyed the Usborne Famous Lives series. I like how they are simple, to the point, without missing the point of who these famous people were. For example, I quite enjoy sharing about William Shakespeare or Alexander the Great with my children and all in one sitting! An easy, relatable way to share history lessons!

What Biographies have you enjoyed?? I am always looking to add to my bookshelf!


Leave a comment

Categories